Wednesday, November 18, 2015

The Forgotten Recipe by Amy Clipston

We are finally seeing signs of fall here in the Old Dominion.  The days are crisper, shorter, and I feel the urge to stock up on books so I'm ready for the long winter months!

Being part of Amy Clipston's Bakery Bunch has been a great way to have one of my favorite authors always at hand.  I was so super excited to receive an advanced reader copy of her newest series.

The Forgotten Recipe is the first of another great new series, the Amish Heirloom Series.  

From Goodreads: Veronica Fisher knows how lucky she is to be marrying her best friend. Seth Lapp is kind, hardworking, and handsome—but most importantly, he loves Veronica.
When an accident on the job steals Seth away from her, a heartbroken Veronica is certain she will never love—or be loved—again. Yet when she discovers a batch of forgotten recipes and opens a bake stand to sell her Mammi’s raspberry pies, Veronica picks up a regular customer who gives her heart pause.
Jason Huyard was with Seth when he lost his life—a memory that haunts him still. So when he seeks out the grieving fiancĂ©e to convey his condolences, the last thing he expects—or wants—is to fall in love. Nonetheless, Jason soon finds himself visiting Veronica’s bake stand every week . . . and it’s for more than the raspberry pies.
Now, as Veronica’s heart thaws, Jason can’t bring himself to tell her he was there when Seth died. Can he ever reveal where he was on the day her life derailed? Or will his secret rob them of the second chance at love they both want? 

If you haven't guessed already, I'm a big fan of Amy Clipston and her work.  I knew this was going to be a book I enjoyed and once I pick up one of her books I manage to slip into the story.  And burn dinner.  Twice.  

The characters were so easy to connect with and well thought out.  Veronica and Jason both have so much pain over the loss of Seth.  The way they came together and how the story unfolded was natural and unhurried. Everything falls into place at just the right time.  The epilogue wraps up the story nicely and leaves a great teaser in it for the second book in the series, The Courtship Basket.  I will have a very hard time waiting for it to come out!

Amy's books keep getting better and better.  I truly love seeing how authors change and develop over time.  Amy's writing style grows stronger with each book she writes.  Fans of Amish Fiction and Amy Clipston won't be disappointed with this story.  

So curl up in your favorite chair, grab a slice of pie, and a copy of The Forgotten Recipe.  Happy Reading!